I Do Mind

On Friday I was at CharLi Beauty Bar for some eyebrow shaping that involved hot wax being applied to my face with paper strips, and the hairs being subsequently ripped out by the roots.  Yeowch!  But not so bad really.  CharLi is a nice person and she knows what she’s doing.  While we were chatting, a song by Usher came on the radio–  “I Don’t Mind”.  CharLi said she hated this song.  “I mean, have you heard the lyrics?”  Admittedly I’d never heard the song before, so I took a closer listen…

Shawty, I don’t mind If you dance on a pole
That don’t make you a ho
Shawty, I don’t mind when you work until three
If you’re leaving with me
Go make that money, money, money
Your money, money, money
Cause I know how it is, go and handle your biz
And get that money, money, money
Your money, money, money
You can take off your clothes
Long as you coming home, girl, I don’t mind

Ew.  So what are we doing here, Usher?  Are you telling young women that it’s a good life ambition to go and take off their clothes for money?  Yes, some women do this to bring in cash when times are desperate, but I think to have a song like this get wide-reach radio play is disgusting.

Your body rock and your booty poppin’, I’m proud to call you my bitch

Okay, that’s nice that you’re proud you date a beautiful girl, but do you have to call her a bitch?  Another fact:  This song was written by 8 people.  EIGHT!!  I don’t get why it takes that many people to come up with demeaning stuff like this.

And then a rapper named Juicy J busts in with this gem:

I’m just tryna cut her up, tryna bust a nut
Tryna take somebody bitch, turn her to a slut

That just throws the rest of the song totally out the window.  Any semblance of “Ok, do your stripper thing, just come home to me at the end of the day,” is smashed to pieces because Usher’s friend Juicy decided to come in and corrupt a girl who obviously already has her own problems.

Another fact:  Usher is engaged to his manager–  a savvy business lady named Grace Miguel.  How does she agree to stuff like this?  I feel like she should be discouraging this kind of representation of women as objects in the mainstream media.  Does she know there are kids dancing to this?  (The kids in the video below are brilliant dancers.  I just wish they weren’t dancing to this song.)

Let’s have more songs written about strong women and the amazing things they do, and less of the kind of lyrics that feature taking off your clothes for money money money.

I don’t know how to feel about the video below.  The girls have such pretty voices but…but….bad Usher lyrics!

Leave a Reply

